Community Symposiums

Mermaid Society Symposiums are created to be signature events of the Mermaid SPLASH Festival, each year in September.  The community platforms are designed to bring together like-minded individuals from students to seniors to cross-pollinate ideas, collaborate on existing projects and strengthen connectivity through engagement.  Each year Mermaid Society will host a total of (3) symposiums -River Guardianship, Arts & Culture and a third that would change from year to year to support the interests of our community. 


River Guardianship

Wednesday, September 12th 2018

San Marcos Activity Center

4:30 - 7:30p.

+ Committee Members

Zach Halfin - Chair, Co-Founder of the Eyes of the San Marcos River

Miranda Wait - Co-Chair, Community and Research Mgr. Spring Lake Education Programs

Kristy Daniel - Ph.D, Depart of Biology , TXST

Laura Davila - Blanco River Regional Recovery Team

Mitch Hoffman - San Marcos Lions

Mark Jalufka - San Marcos Lions

Kimberly Meitzen - Ph.D Assistant Professor, Department of Geography

Collen Myles - Ph.D, Department of Geography, TXST

Larkin Smith - San Marcos Lions

Aaron Swink - Assistant Dir. of Ed. Edwards Aquifer Research and Data Center

Stephen Ramirez - President, San Marcos River Foundation

Ashley Waymouth - Managing Director, Wimberley Valley Watershed Association

Janaye Williamson

Arts & Culture

Tuesday, September 11th, 2018

San Marcos Public Library

5:00 - 9:00p

+ Committee Members

Jordan Buckley - Co Founder of San Marcos Cinema Club

John Fleming - Dean of the College of Fine Arts and Communication at Texas State University

Rick Garcia - Co-Chair -Founder and Artistic Director for Maestro Theatre

Dr. Mario Garza - Founder of Indigenous Cultures Institute

Christopher T. F. Hanson - Co-Chair - Orchestra Director at SMCISD, Founder and Artistic Director of SMART Orchestra

Linda Kelsey-Jones - Director and Curator at The Walker's Gallery, Director of ArtSpace at Centro

John Lopez - Coordinator of Latin Music Studies

Dianne McCabe - San Marcos Arts Advocates

Joan Nagel - San Marcos Arts Advocates

Chris Perez - Pres./CEO of Captiva Entertainment Group

Joe Ptak - Former San Marcos Arts Commission Chair

Maria Rocha - Executive Director of Indigenous Cultures Institute

Tracy Weinberg - Musician